top of page
  • Writer's pictureROS

RECOMMENDED PODCASTS




About a year ago, probably around second semester of senior year in high school, my friend introduced me to podcasts, and at that time I was as lazy as it gets...because SENIORITIS...so to gain knowledge through just listening to people talking was incredibly attractive. However, it took quite some time for trial and error because there's so much content on iTunes podcasts, so what should you listen to? CHECK OUT THE LIST BELOW: (clarification: this is all on iTunes podcasts and not other podcasts such as Spotify)


If you like the news and are too lazy to read like me:

> Good commentary, straightforward news

  • WSJ What's News > mostly business because wall street...DUH

  • The New Yorker: Politics and More > politics but more conversational than just straight-up reporting

If you like are curious about the world and being mindblown (especially history):

> I love history so naturally I gravitate towards history-related podcasts

  • Freaknomics Radio > if you've read Freaknomics before, you will love this.

  • I Think You're Interesting > Vox is probably one of my favorite websites because they make such interesting videos on Youtube with great visuals. This podcast is no less.

  • The Impact > this is more on the lines of news, but it has more entertainment value as well as intellectual curiosity involved.

  • What Really Happened? > this is more about history and what's not really known to the world

  • Revisionist History > this is pretty much like What Really Happened except you all probably know or have heard Malcolm Gladwell. The guy who explained everything to you. This is his podcast on retelling a historical event except stories that are never told before. Very intriguing.

If you like theater:

  • Theater People > you get discount on broadway tickets if you listen to this podcast...so I suggest you get to it.

  • Playbill Represents: The Broadway Cast > It's playbill. It doesn't play around.

  • The Official Disney on Broadway > I love Disney. Period.

If you like celebrities:

  • Happy Sad Confused > If you watch a lot of MTV stuff on Youtube, you will most definitely recognize Josh Horowitz's distinct voice. His chill but charismatic interview skills always allow his guests to be themselves. This podcast is just a continuation of his good work on Youtube.

  • Anna Faris is Unqualified > She just wrote a book about her unqualified self giving relationship advice. It's a bunch of famous people talking to each other. Tune in.

  • Doug Loves Movies > Another interview/discussion on movies.

If you like film/TV:

  • The John Campea Podcast > If you are a nerd like me and like people in tights flying around trying to save the world, you will probably like John Campea. Also, I'm a sucker for the Arrowverse, so the fact that the podcast's profile photo is the Green Arrow just makes me so happy.

  • The West Wing Podcast > Similar to the book Breaking Bad 101, this is a podcast of every episode on the West Wing, one of the most iconic shows in America.

  • The Writers Panel > I love writing (which is why I have a blog), so The Writers Panel is perfect.

If you want to be inspired:

  1. Slacking Ambition > We all get lazy, so listen to this when you are feeling jelly.

  2. The Hilarious World of Depression > Hands down my favorite podcast. It is so genuine yet funny. The guests are always so open to talk about their past or current experiences with depression, something that is not to be taken lightly. I'm a huge advocate for mental illness, and this was the PERFECT podcast for me.

This is all just my personal opinion. I know sometimes getting started with podcasts is hard and weird. If you have no idea what to listen to the first time, I 100% recommend The Hilarious World of Depression. I'm always a better person after listening to each episode.


I will update this post from time to time, so follow this post!

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page